top of page

Amsterdam Expenses


Transportation:

Flight to Amsterdam- $89.99

Train and bus rides- $26.93

Amsterdam is a very walk-able city with a great public transportation system. We stayed in a hostel a bit out of the center (40 minutes walking) and used the tram/buses to get around. If you visit, don't forget to check in and check out for every ride.

Accommodation:

3 nights in a private room at Stayokay Zeeburg hostel- $104.64

3 nights with friends of friends in Ijsselbuurt- $0

We stayed in a private room in a hostel for three nights complete with a bathroom, free breakfast, and a nearby tram stop that brought us right to the center. When my travel partner and I split up, I went on to stay with friends of friends that graciously agreed to host me for a few nights. In exchange, I stayed in with their sleeping infant daughter so they could have a much-needed date night. Staying with locals has proven to yield great tips for city exploration, a relaxed at-home feel, and good bit of relief on the wallet.

Entertainment:

Tip for our Amsterdam tour guide- $21.97

Admission to the Van Gogh museum- $18.56

Souvenirs- $3.91

Have I mentioned that I love walking tours? I've found they can make a huge difference in both my understanding and appreciation of a city. Every time I go to a new city, I will search "free walking tour *city*" and book a tour for one of the first days at my destination. This way, I immediately get some of the context and culture of the place as well as recommendations from a local. The model is that the tours are "free" but the visitors set their own price and support their guide with tips. I generally tip $5-10/hr/person depending on quality of the tour (information+humor) and cost of living in the city. We also spent our time listening to free jazz music near our hotel and wandering the streets aimlessly.

Food:

Restaurants, snacks, and street food- $58.68

While in the hostel, we had free breakfast every morning and packed sandwiches and fruit for lunch. We also had some incredible Turkish food at Nour Kebab, a few Waffles with Nutella and ice cream and strawberries, and some sub-par fast food. On my solo leg of the trip, I had lots of bread and pastries, some Indian takeout, and delicious fried fish. It was super nice to be in a place with reasonably-priced food again.

Total: 324.71

$50 per day was about what I expected to spend in northern Europe on this trip. It was definitely easier on the budget than Iceland, but hopefully as I travel south, costs with get lower and temperatures higher.

Next up: Bilbao

  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
GALLERY
ARCHIVE
SUBSCRIBE TO HER TINY ATLAS
bottom of page